About this place
The Serbian Orthodox Grand Gymnasium, founded on 27 January 1810, is one of the oldest Serbian secondary schools; today it continues as the Jovan Jovanović Zmaj Gymnasium. Its present building was erected in 1900 to a design by architect Vladimir Nikolić, replacing the school's house from the second half of the 18th century, with funds given by Baron Miloš Bajić and other benefactors. Built in an eclectic spirit with elements of Serbian Romantic architecture, it has a floor plan in the shape of the Cyrillic letter П and a first-floor ceremonial hall rich in stucco decoration. The building is protected as a Monument of Great Cultural Significance.