The Synagogue. Begun in 1906 and completed in 1909. A vividly coloured card, the roofs printed in red and the verge in green, captioned in Hungarian and German as Izraelita templom.
About this place
The synagogue on Jevrejska street was built in 1905-1909 to a design by the Budapest architect Lipót Baumhorn, in Hungarian Secession style, with room for 900 worshippers; synagogues had stood on the same site since 1749. During the Second World War occupation, Jews of Novi Sad were imprisoned in the building before deportation to Nazi death camps; of the more than 4,000 Jews living in the city before the war, roughly 1,000 survived. The building served as a synagogue until about 1966 and since 2012 has been used as a cultural venue for concerts and Jewish holiday celebrations. It was designated a Cultural Monument of Exceptional Importance in 1983.